New Board For Sydney Olympic Park Authority

Aerial photo 2015
               Photo: Ethan Rohloff

20 Jun 2016

New Board For Sydney Olympic Park Authority

Former NSW Premier John Fahey AC has been appointed as the new Chair of the Sydney Olympic Park Authority.

Minister for Sport Stuart Ayres said Mr Fahey has an outstanding record serving at the the highest level of Government, national sport, community organisations and business.

“We all know John‘s passion for NSW, best highlighted when he leaped out of his seat when Sydney was announced as the host city for the 2000 Olympic Games,” Mr Ayres said.

“John brings a wealth of leadership experience across public affairs and sports administration to a role that will only build on his substantial Olympic legacy.”

New members to the board include businesswomen Pippa Downes and Romilly Madew, Matt Miller, with David Baffsky and Jill Davies being reappointed.

Former Diamonds captain Liz Ellis and President of the Australian Olympic Committee John Coates remain members.

Mr Ayres also thanked outgoing Chair Michael Knight who will continue in the role until the end of this financial year.

“Michael’s leadership has seen Sydney Olympic Park develop from a sports and entertainment precinct to one that will serve generations into the future,” Mr Ayres added.