Newington Armory - Things to do in Sydney Olympic Park

Newington Armory - Original Gun Powder Magazine - Building 20 Photo: P K Robbins

A secret site revealed

Newington Armory is a special place, formerly the Royal Australian Naval Armament Depot (RANAD), it features over 100 heritage buildings of various ages and types, set amidst a 52 hectare riverside landscape of undulating hills and woodlands.

The heritage buildings provide the Armory with a unique character, which is described through an award-winning heritage interpretation program that can be viewed at the original 1897 gate house.

Location and access

Situated between the southern bank of the Parramatta River and the former Olympic Village that’s now the desirable suburb of Newington, the site is a restricted area with limited public access. You can explore the Armory by foot or bike every weekend between 10am and 4pm.

If driving, Newington Armory is accessed via Jamieson Street (off Holker Street), with free parking available at Blaxland Riverside Park. If on foot or bike, it can be accessed from the Sydney Olympic Park Ferry Wharf or Silverwater via a pleasant and easy walk or bike ride along the River Walk. Or take the hillside walk from Hill Road along the Louise Sauvage pathway.


Newington Armory reflects over 100 years of naval occupation and use, and in an even earlier life as part of the 1807 colonial land grant to the pioneering Blaxland Family. The original character of the landscape can be seen in the beautiful remnant turpentine ironbark forest and wetlands bordering the site.

Visit the Armory History page for more historical information. For detailed information about Newington Armory during its Naval days is available at the RAN Armament Depot Newington website.

For group guided tour at the Newington Armory see Adobe PDF Disarmed at the Armory PDF 2.6MB

Art and cultural venues

Newington Armory is Sydney’s most exciting arts precinct. Facilities for performing and visual arts and writers have enabled the local community to work side by side with emerging and established artists and international visitors.

Artists at the Armory

Newington Armory has an exceptional artist's facility comprising an open plan studio that can accommodate up to 21 artists at a time. The exciting “adaptive re-use” of this heritage building offers useful working space for painting, sculpture, ceramics and printmaking. A writer's studio is also available. The studio space is available for artists for casual hire, long term or even a residency program. You can meet them on one of our regular Meet the Artists tours. Find out more information about the Arts program.

Newington Armory natural values

Newington Nature Reserve has significant ecological values; these extend beyond the boundaries of the Reserve into other parts of the site.  The site’s estuarine wetland and forest provide a valuable resource for research and include a number of rare and endangered ecological communities, flora and fauna including Sydney Turpentine Ironbark Forest, Swamp Oak Floodplain Forest, Coastal Saltmarsh, the Green and Golden Bell Frog, Wilsonia backhousei, and the White-fronted Chat.  The site supports 144 bird species and ten bat species including the only known maternity roost of the White-striped Freetail Bat in the Sydney area.


Urban Jungle Adventure at the Aquatic Centre

Have the chance to WIN a birthday party for 10 at Urban Jungle Adventure. Enter now. Competition closes 30 November 2014

Link to the featured article


Cycling in the Park

Get to the Park and enjoy 35km of cycleways

Link to the featured article

Things To Do

Date Picker